Poker Face

I’ve never been a poker player. Now don’t get me wrong, I have played electronic poker on a handheld device, I’ve even played online, but I have never sat at a table to play a live poker game. With that being said, I have not perfected the art of the “poker face”, nor do I have the desire to do so.

I am such an emotional person. I rarely make decisions solely based on my emotions, but my thoughts have a tendency to allow my emotional state (at any given moment) to saturate them with what I’m feeling, what my senses observe, what I would like to experience, what sparks my fancy…

Like I said, I’m a dreamer. I can close my eyes at any given moment and be taken back to my childhood, to fond memories that were few and far in between the ones I would like to forget. At this moment, I find myself recollecting current events of my daily life. I spent my childhood being instructed not to show emotion, because I was told to calm down, straighten up, pull it together. Today, I choose to live a life where I can do and say what I want, how I choose, with whomever I desire. As a Christian,  there are obviously boundaries that I have made a choice to live within. Beyond that, the sky is truly the limit. I have expressed my love of writing. When I experience emotional overload, I have to put the pen to the paper or in this case, I hit the WP app on my phone and get it out.

The poker face may be considered an art to some, but it’s lost on me.

Nita

Join in the discussion

