Update ~ Project Drop 50

Last month, I mentioned that I was embarking on a journey to lose at least 50 pounds.  I was 60 pounds away from being at the appropriate BMI level, but losing 50 pounds would put me in my comfort zone.  I ultimately didn’t kickstart my new plan until the week before Christmas.  Fast forward to today, and as of Tuesday, the 23rd, I have lost 11 pounds!  I’m so thankful to see progress and the fruits of my labor.

So here’s what I’ve been doing, thus far:

Food

  • Breakfast ~ Frozen fruit and leafy green vegetable (spinach or kale) smoothie every weekday and eggs and turkey bacon on weekends
    • This past week, I have added cottage cheese, for added protein and creaminess, flaxseed for Omega-3’s, and apple cider vinegar to aid digestion
  • Lunch ~ Either boiled eggs and vegetables, straight vegetables with low-fat dressing, or vegetables with a protein (turkey bacon, ground chicken, or baked fish)
  • Dinner ~ Vegetables and ground chicken, turkey bacon, or baked fish
  • Snacks ~ A boiled egg, here and there, but no more than 3 boiled eggs per day (I love mine whole – no discarding yolks for me!).  Also, I have found a “clean” oatmeal cookie recipe that consists of only oats (I use whole grain) and 1 banana.  Believe it or not, it is a really tasty treat!

Sounds boring, I know, but it has worked for me.  I am figuring out ways to add variety and additional flavor to what I eat.  I’m learning about spices that I never used before, and I haven’t felt deprived, at all.

Fitness

  • 4-5x week ~ about 1 hour of cardio via YouTube dance, Zumba, and Plyometrics videos.  I have several playlists of videos at my disposal, so I can tailor my workout to the specific amount of time that I have to work out.  I try to work out for a little while, first thing in the morning, and then again in the evening.  When I oversleep, I aim to work out longer in the evening to make up for it.
  • 5x week ~ 20-25 minutes of Pilates or traditional ab exercises via YouTube fitness videos

Within the next week, I am going to purchase some hand weights (to replace the sets that I lost recently) and some ankle weights.  Then, I plan to incorporate more strength training to my workouts.

How are you making better choices regarding your diet or fitness level this year?  Do you have a plan for success?

Nita

3 thoughts on “Update ~ Project Drop 50

  1. I would love to get your oatmeal cookie recipe, if you do not mind sharing! Congrats on the fantastic progress you have made, thus far! My mother lost 20 pounds last summer/fall, and I remember how diligent she had to be with it. However, the end result was well worth it!

    • Thanks so much! I actually first heard of the recipe on BlogilatesTV via YouTube. There is a great fitness expert on there named Cassie Ho.

      Here’s the recipe:

      1C oats (I usually use around 3/4C, to give my “cookies” more of a banana taste)
      1 banana
      Handful of raisins (optional) – I have recently omitted the raisins, because I don’t feel like I’m getting any added nutritional value from them

      Mix with your hands – I know, it sounds a little messy, but a spoon doesn’t mix everything together well enough. Shape with hands and place about an inch apart on an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 7-10 minutes (depending on the size).

      I hope you enjoy them! After getting over the obvious lack of sugar, this has become my go-to treat when I’m craving dessert. Sometimes, I will dip them in fat-free whipped topping, which isn’t “clean”, but it isn’t fattening, either.

      • Thanks!! Yes so many times I crave junk food, then I pig out on a bunch of high sugar/calorie foods! It’s bad! haha

        I agree with you about raisins. I think they are mainly loaded with sugars. They taste really good, but don’t offer much.

Join in the discussion

