Breakfast of Champions

In my quest of ‘Eating Clean in 2013’, I have started to whip up super-nutritious homemade smoothies each morning.  From what I’ve read, a drink, no matter how nutritious, shouldn’t permanently replace any of our meals; however, I am a woman who has almost always failed to eat a weekday breakfast.  Then, I end up compensating for my starvation by consuming far too many calories at lunch or snacking my way to lunch (I’m a grazer).  My days of self-deprecation have ended!

Welcome the Breakfast of Champions!!  During the week, I only consume the smoothie, which consists of 1/2C of whole wheat oats, 1 banana, 1/2C frozen fruit, about 2T flaxseed, 2t apple cider vinegar, and a splash of water, today.  To switch things up, I make numerous variations, such as the addition of 1/2C of cottage cheese, in order to get additional protein in with the least amount of added calories.  I also typically add a leafy green vegetable, such as kale or spinach, and some cilantro (to aid digestion).  Since it is the weekend, I cooked two eggs and topped them off with a pre-made chunky salsa.  So delicious and healthy, at the same time!

Breakfast of Champions 012613

 

Nita

Join in the discussion

