Natural Healing Weekends

Hi all,

I would like to introduce Natural Healing Weekends!  To kick-start things, I will discuss the healing properties of the precious gem known as breast milk.  As noted on Kellymom.com, “According to the Iowa Extension Service, every teaspoon of breast milk has 3,000,000 germ killing cells in it; so if a baby gets even one tsp. a day, it is very valuable!”  Ah, that is music to my ears!!  As a nursing mom who must supplement, due to a reduction mammaplasty from 7 years ago, I’ve heard that every drop counts.  It is so much more meaningful when a resource that you value (Kellymom) says it, as well.

My youngest woke up with a fever this morning.  He was also very lethargic and fussy.  I took his temperature and it was 101.6!*  I promptly called the doctor and we were sitting in a room with a nurse within 30 minutes.  The doctor confirmed my little one’s temp.  In addition to that, she noted that he has an ear infection in one of his ears.  Aside from the meds that she prescribed (antibiotics were necessary for the infection and acetaminophen was necessary to reduce the fever), she asked if I am nursing.  She instructed me to amp up my fluid intake to help him with his intake.  Now that we have been home for several hours, we are on a nursing vacation!  A nursing vacation is basically a time when mom and baby nurse around the clock.  I pump during my work days, Monday through Friday, but this is a time when mother and child should actually stay in bed for at least a couple of days and do nothing but nurse.  We can’t stay inside for more than the weekend, but I will attempt to nurse at every opportunity.  While nursing couldn’t prevent this malady, it can definitely help with healing it!

Here are some surprising (to me) ways that breast milk, unofficially, heals the human body:

  • Ear infections (can’t see how it would hurt, but no, I haven’t tried this yet)
  • Eye infections, including conjunctivitis (pink eye)
  • Burns and scrapes
  • Sore throat (no joke)
  • Yeast infection

Now, you tell me.  Who is willing to test out these reported healing properties of breast milk?  Are there any nursing mommas out there who are up to the challenge to find out?

*Note:  A temperature is considered “normal” at 98.6, and a child is considered to have a fever at 100.4 (source: Livestrong.com).

Nita

5 thoughts on “Natural Healing Weekends

  1. I’m sorry your little one is sick! 😦 Isn’t that incredible – 3,000,000 germ-killing cells per tsp?!! I knew breastmilk was great, but wow! I’m nursing my 12 month old (well, he’ll be 13 months on Mon) still several times a day/night. He only nurses on one side per feed, so that’s probably why we have so many feeds per 24 hours still. He LOVES nursing and brings a cloth to me to put on his shoulder to nurse! Super cute!! And I am happy to oblige because I know just how good it is for him! I could probably test the cuts/scrapes one as I am somewhat clumsy! But I HOPE I don’t get the opportunity! 😉

    • Thanks! Our nursing vacation (along with the antibiotics) was a success! He was a bit fussy tonight (Sunday), but otherwise, he is doing much better.

      That is so precious how your little one brings you a cloth to nurse! Kudos to you for making it to one year of nursing. This is the first baby that I have nursed for any significant amount of time (almost 6 months). I’m so grateful to be able to do so, and I hope to keep it up at least until we get to a year.

      Let me know if you are able to test that remedy out! I’ll try it if I have the opportunity, as well.

      • I’m so glad to hear he is feeling better! 😀 We’ve enjoyed breastfeeding; I’m not sure when I’ll wean him. As it is now I don’t see an end in sight, but we’ll see! We’re trying for baby #4 so maybe a pregnancy would change things. Who knows! 😉

        • Thanks! I’m curious to find out how long we will go. It is only slightly difficult to pump during the week; I thought it would be quite a hassle, but the benefits far outweigh the inconvenience!

          Fingers crossed for baby #4 for you!

          • Thank you! I pumped with our first child. It was only part time, thankfully, because I had a not-so-comfortable single electric pump. I wouldn’t have wanted to use that full time! 😉

Join in the discussion

