Hur Jurnee…to weight loss – the natural way

A diet rich in soy and whey protein, found in ...

Let’s keep it real – I need to lose some serious weight.  By serious, I mean that I’m not looking to lose that “last ten pounds” so I can fit into my clothes better.  I need to lose at least 50 pounds, but 60 would be ideal.  It’s crazy, because my family and friends would say, “no way!”  I know how much I weigh, and I know what weight I feel most comfortable at.  I was diagnosed with chronic hypertension after giving birth to my first son, five years ago.  I couldn’t believe it.  Yes, I was overweight – but I had just given birth!  Yes, I have a family history of heart disease and hypertension – but I was still in my 20’s!  There were a lot of “buts” filling my thoughts.  It just didn’t seem fair at the time.  It was my reality though.  I know that my hypertension is partly due to excess weight and partly due to stress.  I use meditation techniques (which I will discuss later) and pray in order to relieve some of the stress in my life; however, life happens, and various stressors present themselves on the regular.  So here I am:  I gave birth to my third and final child this spring, and I have a large amount of weight to lose.  I’ve never been one to back down from a challenge, and this is my life, right?  So let’s get it!!!

My last post discussed the new diet regimen that I will follow starting October 1st.  On a weekly basis (at the very least), I will provide an update on my progress and any tips that I discover.  Please feel free to do the same!

I’m honestly not sure how I will tackle my weight loss journey this time around.  When I lost weight after my second pregnancy, I worked out either before work or during my lunch break.  On the weekend, I did Taebo.  This worked pretty well, as long as I ate right.

This time, I am nursing (go me!), so I use my lunch time by going to pump during the day.  I will have to wake up earlier so I can work out at home.  I’m not good about working out at night – it just doesn’t suit me.  In the coming days, I will need to come up with a plan.

Nita

Join in the discussion

